Skip to content

Interconnection queue data

Interconnection costs by region, as the published studies report them

Berkeley Lab has published interconnection cost studies for several markets. In every one of them, projects that withdrew had been assigned far higher costs than projects that finished. The tables below quote those figures with the period each study attaches to them.

GridVision AI ResearchPublished Updated

Headline figures

$599/kW
mean interconnection cost for withdrawn PJM projects, against $84/kW for projects completed in 2020–2022
$452/kW
mean for withdrawn MISO projects in recent years, of which $388/kW was network upgrades
how much more withdrawn SPP projects were assigned on average than complete ones, in Berkeley Lab's reading

Figures are quoted from the Berkeley Lab summaries cited under each table. Samples, coverage and vintages differ by study, so the numbers compare within a market, not across markets.

How to read the bars

  • Mean total interconnection cost
  • Of which network upgrades beyond the interconnecting substation

PJM

Over 1,100 projects, 86% of all new unique generators in PJM between 2000 and 2022.

PJM interconnection costs per kilowatt, by project status and period
StatusPeriodMeanMedianNetwork upgradesMean, to scale
Complete2000–2019$42/kW$18/kWNot reported
Complete2020–2022$84/kW$30/kW$71/kW
Active2017–2019$29/kW$8/kWNot reported
Active2020–2022$240/kW$85/kW$227/kW
WithdrawnNo period given$599/kW$156/kW$563/kW

Source: Berkeley Lab, “PJM data show substantial increases in interconnection costs” (January 19, 2023). See the PJM queue page for the process these costs come out of.

MISO

Nearly 50% of all projects requesting interconnection from 2010 to 2020, or 30% going back to 2000.

MISO interconnection costs per kilowatt, by project status and period
StatusPeriodMeanMedianNetwork upgradesMean, to scale
Complete2019–2021$102/kWNot reported$57/kW
Active2019–2021$156/kWNot reported$107/kW
WithdrawnRecent projects$452/kWNot reported$388/kW

Source: Berkeley Lab, “Data from MISO show rapidly growing interconnection costs” (2022). See the MISO queue page for the process these costs come out of.

SPP

845 projects with cost estimates, 2001 through March 2023.

SPP interconnection costs per kilowatt, by project status and period
StatusPeriodMeanMedianNetwork upgradesMean, to scale
Complete2002–2009$54/kWNot reportedNot reported
Complete2010s$43/kWNot reportedNot reported
Complete2020–2022$57/kWNot reportedNot reported
Active2020–2023$106/kWNot reported$58/kW
Withdrawn2000s$22/kWNot reportedNot reported
Withdrawn2010s$247/kWNot reported$180/kW
Withdrawn2020–2023$304/kWNot reported$230/kW

Source: Berkeley Lab, “SPP data show rising network upgrade costs, especially for withdrawn projects” (2023). See the SPP queue page for the process these costs come out of.

What the gap between statuses does and does not say

In each study, withdrawn projects carry the highest assigned costs, and network upgrades beyond the interconnecting substation account for most of that difference: $563/kW of the $599/kW PJM figure and $388/kW of the $452/kW MISO figure. These are costs that studies assigned, not costs that were paid — a withdrawn project pays its study costs, not its upgrade estimate.

The studies report an association between assigned cost and withdrawal. They do not establish that cost caused any individual withdrawal, and a project's own allocation can move between study phases. What the figures do support is treating a change in allocated cost as a decision point with its own evidence, which is what the stay-or-withdraw guide works through.

Markets without per-kilowatt figures here

  • NYISO. Berkeley Lab's NYISO analysis covers 2003–2019 and at least 43% of new generation and storage requests; its public summary reports that average costs grew as requests escalated but gives no per-kW figures. Berkeley Lab, Interconnection Cost Analysis in the NYISO Territory.
  • ISO-NE. Berkeley Lab's ISO New England analysis covers 194 projects from 2010 to 2021 and reports that costs grew over time, especially for projects that withdrew, and were highest for onshore wind, followed by solar and storage. Berkeley Lab, Interconnection Cost Analysis in the ISO-New England Territory.
  • ERCOT. ERCOT is not covered by these studies. Since March 2026 ERCOT has published a monthly transmission interconnection costs report, covering costs reported by transmission service providers for transmission-level generators energized in the previous month. ERCOT, Resource Adequacy reports.

Data and how to cite

The CSV carries every figure on this page with its period and its source. Cite as: GridVision AI, “Interconnection Costs by Region,” https://gridvisionai.com/interconnection-queue/costs, compiled from Berkeley Lab interconnection cost studies. Checked 2026-09-18.

For outcome and duration statistics from the queue data itself, see queue statistics.

Want this reading for your own point of interconnection?

Send the node and the market. We read the public queue record for it — what was filed, what was built, what withdrew and how long each took — and send back what the record does and does not show.

Ask for a node retrospective

Public-record reading only. Management review and formal interconnection studies remain authoritative.